The Dayton Municipal Court has five elected judges who spend about 40% of their time in court presiding over felony preliminary hearings, in-jail arraignments, and civil cases. These proceedings are cases not officially assigned to each judge’s docket, but must be handled in the course of regular, daily court business. Criminal, traffic and civil cases that are officially assigned to each judge result in a yearly annual average of 1,462 guilty pleas at the pretrial or trial stage, 784 dismissals or other terminations, 398 failure to appear warrants, and 94 trials both by the court or jury. Beyond these reported activities, judges hear default civil cases and preside over probation hearings, motions to suppress, and hundreds of other issues raised by written motions. In addition to time spent in court, each judge must schedule office meetings, conference calls with attorneys and conduct legal research necessary for decisions. The demands of public appearances and service on numerous community and criminal justice boards must also be scheduled into the judge’s calendar.

Judges of the Dayton Municipal Court

Judge Daniel G. Gehres, Judge Carl S. Henderson, Judge Christopher D. Roberts, Judge Deirdre E. Logan, Judge Mia Wortham Spells

Court Information

Dayton Municipal Court

P.O. Box 10700
301 West Third Street
Dayton, OH 45402

Office hours for the Clerk of Court are 8:00am to 4:30pm, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, for the acceptance of case filings and payments. Traffic and Criminal payments can also be paid online at

Clerk of Court:

Court Administration:
FAX: 937-333-4494

Central Payments:
FAX: 937-333-4468

Civil Division:
FAX: 937-333-4468

Criminal Division:
FAX: 937-333-4490

Traffic Division:
FAX: 937-333-7558

Jury Information:
FAX: 937-333-4468

Probation Services:

Warrant Enforcement: